The Four Ages

- from the theological writings of Emanuel Swedenborg

| Back | Next Page |

AC #10248

It is evident from the Word that on our earth a church has been set up four times, of which the first was the Most Ancient Church, which was before the flood; the second was the Ancient Church, which was after the flood; the third was the Israelitish and Jewish Church; and lastly there was the Christian Church. The period of each Church, from beginning to end, is "an age;" moreover after this last mentioned Church, a new one will begin.

Coronis #2

There have been four churches on this earth from the day of its creation: the First, which is to be called the Adamic; the Second, the Noachian; the Third, the Israelitish; and the Fourth, the Christian. That four churches have existed on this earth since the creation of the world, manifestly appears in Daniel; first, from the statue seen by Nebuchadnezzar in a dream, and, afterwards, from the four beasts rising up out of the sea.

| Back | Next Page |

Return to The Four Ages HomePage
Return to the Spiritual Frontier HomePage

HTML by: - June 1995